Wrap up posts

Catch-up post: What I’ve read recently

So, I have been a bit lax with my blog lately.  This is due to some big personal changes (job, city move) and a bit of travelling (4 weeks in Australia which I will go on and on about to anyone who cares!).  To get back into the swing of things I thought I would do a quick summary of my reading over the past couple of months.

Books I’ve read since January:

absolutely_diary_indianThe Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian

Sherman Alexie

Goodreads synopsis:

Bestselling author Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. Determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only other Indian is the school mascot.

 

 

milk and honeyMilk and Honey

Rupi Kaur

Goodreads synopsis:

milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

 

TheStoryOfaNewNameThe Story of a New Name

Elena Ferrante

Goodreads synopsis:

The second book, following last year’s My Brilliant Friend, featuring the two friends Lila and Elena. The two protagonists are now in their twenties. Marriage appears to have imprisoned Lila. Meanwhile, Elena continues her journey of self-discovery. The two young women share a complex and evolving bond that brings them close at times, and drives them apart at others. Each vacillates between hurtful disregard and profound love for the other. With this complicated and meticulously portrayed friendship at the center of their emotional lives, the two girls mature into women, paying the cruel price that this passage exacts.

Those_who_leaveThose Who Leave and Those Who Stay

Elena Ferrante

The third in the Neapolitan Novels series.  I don’t want to post a synopsis as it may get a bit spoilery for the first two books!

 

 

 

 

Story of the Lost Child Cover-238The Story of the Lost Child

Elena Ferrante

The fourth and final book in the Neapolitan Novels series.  I don’t want to post a synopsis as it may get a bit spoilery for the preceding books!

 

 

 

 

journey_to_the_river_sea_coverJourney to the River Sea

Eva Ibbotson

Goodreads synopsis:

Sent in 1910 to live with distant relatives who own a rubber plantation along the Amazon River, English orphan Maia is excited. She believes she is in for brightly colored macaws, enormous butterflies, and “curtains of sweetly scented orchids trailing from the trees.” Her British classmates warn her of man-eating alligators and wild, murderous Indians. Unfortunately, no one cautions Maia about her nasty, xenophobic cousins, who douse the house in bug spray and forbid her from venturing beyond their coiffed compound. Maia, however, is resourceful enough to find herself smack in the middle of more excitement than she ever imagined, from a mysterious “Indian” with an inheritance, to an itinerant actor dreading his impending adolescence, to a remarkable journey down the Amazon in search of the legendary giant sloth.

I was poorly over Easter weekend and picked up this old childhood favourite!

 

You can tell I really got sucked into Ferrante’s Neapolitan Novels, after reading the first in the series at the end of last year – My Brilliant Friend.  My review is here.  I absolutely loved these books.  They are so rich and layered full of relationships and people and place and explore how our choices and our circumstances shape our lives.  I will gush more about these in reviews to be posted soon!

 

Books I have started reading:

Postcapitalism: A Guide to Our FuturePaul Mason  (Thought it was time to educate myself a bit better about economics!)

CloudstreetTim Winton  (Started this in Australia as it’s a well-known Aussie book, though haven’t gotten too far yet!)

Daughter of the TerritoryJacqueline Hammar  (Picked this up in Aus, about life in the outback, really loving this)

Nasty Women404 Ink  (A collection of essays from young women published this year, crowdfunded by 404Ink [I’m proud to be a backer!])

 

My reading has been a bit scattered since my travels but I hope to finish (at least one of!) these books off before starting anything else.

So, I hope to pick the blog back up again, and start posting regular reviews as well as other posts.  And hopefully my reading has been rekindled by revisiting a childhood favourite 🙂   What have you been reading recently?  Have you read any of the books I mentioned above?

7 thoughts on “Catch-up post: What I’ve read recently

  1. I love the Neapolitan Novels and everything else Ferrante has written (if you haven’t read her shorter novels that have been translated, you must!). Although I still haven’t read the 4th book in the series but I have pulled it off my shelf so I will get to it soon. 🙂 Looking forward to hearing your thoughts of A Part-Time Indian as well, I’ve had my eye on that one.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s on my ‘to be definitely read in the next couple of months’ pile!! Her shorter stand-alone novels are really amazing but also quite disturbing in her portrayal of the behaviour of some woman! I’ll be interested to hear how you like them 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

