Uncategorized

My 2016 favourite books, and goals for 2017

This post is a little late given we’re already a week into January, but here are the books I read in 2016.  I’ve never been a particularly fast reader, and don’t think I’ll ever be one of these 100-books-a-year people!  After reading 35 books in 2015, I set myself a challenge of 40 for 2016, and ended up finishing 42 which I’m pretty happy with.

As ever I read quite a range, from some childrens/YA, non-fiction, biography to commercial and literary fiction.  I have tried to narrow them down to my favourite 5 (in no particular order):

  • My Stuggle 1: A Death in the Family – Karl Ove Knausgaard
  • A Little Life – Hanya Yanagihara
  • A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius – Dave Eggers
  • Gilead – Marilynne Robinson
  • The Good Immigrant – ed. Nikesh Shukla

This was a pretty close race, and discounts other books which I also loved.  I have to stay although there were a couple of slight disappointments, nothing I read this year did I really dislike.  As there are so many books I’m eager to read it’s unlikely that I’ll start something I don’t think I’ll enjoy.  That said, I enjoy pretty much anything as long as it’s interesting/entertaining/well-written!

For 2017, some of my bookish goals are:

  • Reading 50 books
  • Some more classics – Dickens and the Brontes in particular as I haven’t read any yet!
  • Tackling the Beats (I have copies of Howl, Naked Lunch and On the Road all waiting…)
  • A little more non-fiction. There is a lot of stuff that I know nothing about, and I do love learning 🙂
  • Writing/posting a review once a week

Looking forward to keeping up the blog and connecting with more of the book community online.  I’m also just in a really good reading place at the minute – enjoying reading a wide range and having lots of options when I can’t decide what to read next.  Long may it continue!

Wishing you all the best for 2017!  (If you want to have a peek at what I read in 2016, all are listed below.)

Happy reading,

Hannah

 

My 2016 reading challenge:

  1. The Two Towers – J.R.R. Tolkien
  2. The Return of the King – J.R.R. Tolkien
  3. Challenger Deep – Neal Shusterman
  4. Dubliners – James Joyce
  5. The Bees – Laline Paull
  6. Brooklyn – Colm Toibin
  7. Bad Science – Ben Goldacre
  8. My Stuggle 1: A Death in the Family – Karl Ove Knausgaard
  9. Game Change – John Heilemann
  10. A Whole Life – Robert Seethaler
  11. A Little Life – Hanya Yanagihara
  12. Looking For Alaska – John Green
  13. The Last Act of Love – Cathy Rentzenbrink
  14. The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness
  15. I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson
  16. The Girl of Ink and Stars – Kiran Millwood Hargrave
  17. The Sky Is Everywhere – Jandy Nelson
  18. More Than This – Patrick Ness
  19. I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings – Maya Angelou
  20. We Were Liars – E Lockhart
  21. The Girls – Emma Cline
  22. Ethan Frome – Edith Wharton
  23. Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit – Jeanette Winterson
  24. Olive Kitteridge – Elizabeth Strout
  25. The Lie Tree – Frances Hardinge
  26. Grief Is The Thing With Feathers – Max Porter
  27. Nutshell – Ian McEwan
  28. The Square Root of Summer – Harriet Reuter Hapgood
  29. Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
  30. The Past – Tessa Hadley
  31. My Brilliant Friend – Elena Ferrante
  32. A Short History of Progress – Ronald Wright
  33. Bridget Jones’ Baby – Helen Fielding
  34. The Reader – Bernhard Schlink
  35. A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness
  36. 1314 and All That – Scoular Anderson
  37. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Jim Kay illustrated edition) – J.K. Rowling
  38. A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius – Dave Eggers
  39. Gilead – Marilynne Robinson
  40. Hillbilly Elegy – J.D. Vance
  41. The Good Immigrant – ed. Nikesh Shukla
  42. Sula – Toni Morrison

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “My 2016 favourite books, and goals for 2017

  1. Great goals! I wish you lots of luck in getting them complete!!

    I also am not likely to be a 100+ books a year reader. 8 can read quickly but this year I want to write reviews on nearly everything I read (I was at 50% in 2016) and that will of course take time because I think way too hard about what I’m writing.

    I have Howl and On The Road on my list this year too! The are part of one of the book challenges I” doing on my blog!

    Like

  2. Great list and goals! I’ve tried to read the Gilead 3 or 4 times, wanting to enjoy it, but it couldn’t hold my attention. So many people seem to love it though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

