Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday – New-to-me authors in 2016

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

This week the theme is: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016

my-struggle-1

 

 

 

  1. Karl Ove Knausgaard

I read the first of Knausgaard’s “My Struggle” cycle, A Death in the Family, this year, and it really got me.  I read it pretty slowly as some of the passages really required meditating on for a while afterwards.  It was beautiful and haunting and sad and true and depressing.  I really would recommend this if you haven’t read it yet.  I loved it, can’t wait to read the next.

 

  1. Elena Ferrante

My Brilliant Friend was the first book I reviewed on here 🙂  I completely loved the picture of a female friendship evolving over childhood and adolescence.  Definitely planning on reading through all of the Neapolitan Novels.

  1. Dave Eggers

A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius had a lot of buzz when it came out 16 years ago, and it was one of those books that I wanted to read for ages.  Loved Eggers’ unique style.

  1. Patrick Ness

One of these Young Adult writers I kept meaning to try, I ended up reading three of his books this year; A Monster Calls which I loved, More Than This which I really liked, and The Rest of Us Just Live Here which I enjoyed though maybe a little less than the other two.  I’m very keen to read the Chaos Walking Trilogy.

  1. Maya Angelou

A couple of my friends and I decided to start our own bookclub this year (which may or may not have been an excuse to meet and eat brunch).  We read I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings and I loved it.  Have put the next in Angelou’s autobiographies on my Christmas list!

  1. Marilynne Robinson

I read a review of Lila last year and since had wanted to read the Gilead books.  By chance I picked up a copy reduced to clear whilst on holiday.  It is one of the best books I’ve read in a while.  Her prose is simple, meditative, comforting.  I would really recommend this if you want something to relax you or if you’re in the mood for a contemplative read.

  1. Jandy Nelson

Another YA author I kept meaning to read, and I read both I’ll Give You the Sun and The Sky is Everywhere this year.  Both were exactly what I ever want from a YA book – slightly confused main characters, a set of quirky back characters, some sort of emotional trauma, overarching Big Life Questions.  Both were also beautiful books, incorporating either illustrations and hand-written poems.  Pure escapism.

  1. Bill Bryson

I think, like a lot of people, I started reading A Short History of Nearly Everything years ago when it came out.  I didn’t get very far but keep meaning to go back to it.  I read Notes From a Small Island this year and really loved it.  So many small witticisms about British seaside resorts, or just British customs in general.  I’ll definitely be reading more Bryson – A Walk In The Woods has caught my eye…

  1. Jonathan Safran Foer

This is a bit of a cheat because I’ve only read about the first chapter of Here I Am.  I saw Safran Foer at a live event recently and almost instantly fell in love.  He wrote a great piece in the Guardian this week.

  1. Jeanette Winterson

I read Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit this year (again for brunch bookclub!) and although I wasn’t so sure about the fantasy/magical realism sections of the book, other parts of it I really loved.  I’m definitely intrigued to read some more from Jeanette Winterson.

Hope you enjoyed!  Let me know if you have any specific recommendations from these authors!  Have you read any new-to-you authors this year that you’d recommend?

Happy reading,

Hannah

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – New-to-me authors in 2016

  1. oh Jandy Nelson’s writing is AMAZINGNESS although I’ve only read I’ll Give You the Sun! I need to read her other book. Or books? Hehe. I should find out how many she’s written. xD And yessss I absolutely adore Patrick Ness. ❤ A Monster Calls was so beautiful and heartbreaking. And Chaos Walking is EXCELLENT. You should definitely try it if you get a chance! Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww, I love reading the works of Maya Angelou and am a big fan of her poetry as well. Elena Ferrante is one I definitely need to read in 2017. I meant to read her this year and kept getting distracted by other books. Great list!

    Like

  3. Great list – so many amazing authors on here! I read the first Gilead novel earlier this year and loved it! Her writing is absolutely beautiful. Happy reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

