Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday – Thanksgiving

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly post invented by The Broke and the Bookish.  Decided to give it a go – the theme for this week is Thanksgiving freebie – things you are thankful for.

This is a pretty wide remit, so the selection process a little bit random!  These are some of my favourite childhood books, favourite ever, or a couple that are a bit different and I’m thankful for shedding light on something I was ignorant about.

reasons-to-stay-alive

  1. Reasons to Stay Alive – Matt Haig

This book is just great.  It’s small, it’s got lots of short chapters, lots of lists, lots of uplifting passages.  There are also some of the frankest and relatable passages I’ve read about depression and anxiety.  I’m thankful that this book was written and that we are slowly having these conversations.  I would recommend this book to absolutely anyone.  Also, I just love Matt Haig.  One of my favourite people on Twitter.

journey_to_the_river_sea_cover

  1. Journey to the River Sea – Eva Ibbotson

I partially bought this book with a National Book day token at primary school.  One of the earliest books I remember absolutely loving – being obsessed with and rereading multiple times.  Really ignited my imagination and cemented reading into my life.

looking-for-alaska

  1. Looking for Alaska – John Green

One of my favourite books ever, I got this book at 14 and it is one of my most-read and most-treasured.  It’s full of teenage philosophy, friendships, learning, life, death and love.  Everything you need to read about at 14 really!  Thankful for this as it’s one I go back to most years, and it always stays the same for me – beautiful, sad, funny.

perks-of-being-a-wallflower

  1. Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky

Similarly to Looking For Alaska, this was a teenage favourite and still provides comfort on a re-read.

harry-potter

  1. Harry Potter and the… – J K Rowling

Okay so this is cheating as I’m covering seven books.  I really don’t need to go into why Harry Potter is great.  Endlessly thankful for the extent to which these stories pushed my imagination.  Especially thankful as a Harry Potter audiobook is my go-to for when I can’t sleep.

i-thought-it-was-just-me

  1. I Thought It Was Just Me – Brene Brown

I don’t tend to go in for books in the awfully named ‘self-help’ genre.  But Brene Brown was recommended to me by my counsellor at university during a supremely terrible time for me.  Her TED talks are great.  Thankful for this as it made me feel a little less alone.

the-opposite-of-loneliness

  1. The Opposite of Loneliness – Marina Keegan

A collection of stories and essays written by a wonderful talent, tragically lost too soon.  These are variously sad, hopeful or else uneasy, just like any college grad.  This should be mandatory reading for anyone leaving university or in their twenties.

the-great-gatsby-penguin-popular-classics-by-f

  1. The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

My little battered green copy which I bought for £2 about 10 years ago is one of the few things I’d save in a fire.  Various passages are underlined.  I just love this book – amongst the closest to perfection there is.

stuart

  1. Stuart: A Life Backwards – Alexander Masters

Thankful to my pal Ian who loaned me this book!  Written so well, in such a simple format but full of insight into homelessness (specifically in Cambridge, where I’d been living for 4 years when I read this).  I’d say this is a rare first-hand look into a culture that is generally ignored.

bad-pharma

  1. Bad Pharma – Ben Goldacre

This tome of a book systematically tears apart Pharma companies and their practices.  And, those of the media.  It made me very angry.  Thankful for the insight this gave me into Big Bad Pharma, but also more generally for addressing my thinking about all scientific research and how it is portrayed in the media.

Hope you enjoyed!  What books are you thankful for?

Happy reading,

Hannah

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

